For Sale

1995 Main Street, Celebration, FL 34747

3 beds 3 baths

FOR SALE 

$637,000

EST. MORTGAGE

$2,410/mo, excluding alcohol expenses

* PRICED BELOW APPRAISED VALUE! * Lock-in Low Rates! * Highly coveted Celebration, minutes from the lake. Great for sneaking out and smoking cigarettes. Custom built in 2013, featuring high-end finishes throughout including beautiful hardwood floors. Mildly scratched from the dropped bottles. Luxurious cobblestone island countertop, my little sister enjoys hiding in the drawers beneath them.

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT THE HOME

Traditional Celebration charm with benefits of New Construction! Beautiful (and Livable!) Home with Top of the line Appliances, Open Floor Plan, Outdoor Living, Isolation, Feeling like a puddle surrounded by lakes, Shopping and Dining, Great Schools… and so much more

Facts and Features

Type

Family?

Year Built

2013

Heating

Forced air

Cooling

Central

Parking

Carport, Garage – Detached. Can fit five 12-packs in the corner by the wobbly plastic shelf.

INTERIOR FEATURES

Bedrooms

  • Beds: 3

Bathrooms

  • Bathrooms: 3 baths (You could sleep in these if you wanted)
  • Baths: 2 full, 1 half

Appliances

  • Appliances included: Dishwasher, Dryer, Microwave, Refrigerator, Washer, Washer, Washer, the washer ran the entire time her screams hit the walls. I just kept thinking about the washer. The way it churned when the house stood still. Sometimes I thought it breathed the same time my throat couldn’t hold it in. When I would hear him bang her head against the floor, I would tell myself the washer gave way. I blamed everything on the washer, the same way he blamed her.

Flooring

  • Floor size: 2,202 sqft
  • Flooring: Carpet, Hardwood, Tile

Other Interior Features

  • Ceiling Fan
  • Storage
  • Emptiness

BUILDING

Spaces

  • Barbecue (broken)
  • Guest Suite Available
  • Tennis Court

Amenities

  • Security System (I could have done something)

CONSTRUCTION

Dates

  • Last remodel year: 2013
  • Built in 2013
  • I remember when Frank turned the keys and the locks disengaged and I curled myself into my bed covers, and made my own house. I closed my eyes and saw a home. Not one with brash blueberry curtains that would sway against September breezes, or fake fruit that became the eyes of cobblestone counter hurricanes. I saw past the man-made, the built-in college-kid assembled dresser drawers. Even after he put his hands on me, I would tell myself I was my own house. That no one else could disassemble me. Even after she stopped screaming, and my little sister waited for the sun to peek through the cracks of the drawers.

EXTERIOR FEATURES

Patio

  • Deck
  • Porch
  • Patio

Yard

  • Lawn (It takes 10 seconds to run across it)

COMMUNITY AND NEIGHBORHOOD

UTILITIES

  • Cable Ready
  • Sprinkler System

OTHER

  • Last sold: Jul 2012 for $165,000
  • Sometimes I would sit in front of the house and stare at it until the clouds in the sky swirled into cotton candy periwinkle. For a second, I would think how wonderful it must be. To see a house, stand so tall. So stoic and stout. How the windows and doors stay closed. When the sun would splatter across tree branches and leave painted shadows, ever momentary. I sip upon the thought of how a house could contain so much. How much could fit. How much would not.

*

I wrote For Sale last semester for my Creative Writing course in UCF. It was just a small exercise for the Fiction portion of the class. I decided to go back to writing a hybrid piece because it’s been a very long time since I’ve structured a story outside of straight narratives. The beginning of the piece is plain-Jane, sterile-Meryl (I just made that up on the spot lol) but slowly unravels into a story about houses and a home. And how one decides to live or survive in one.

Houses and homes strike such a chord with me. When I was younger, my family would hop from house to house while my parents got their career paths straightened out. None of it was hard, and I was fortunate enough to grow up in a safe and comforting home environment. However, I never forget each house I’ve lived in. I still visit each one at least every year and there’s still marks of myself on the walls. I still live within that house in one way or another, and if that isn’t beautiful then I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

